Yes, we exist.

“So, where did you go on 31st?”
Nowhere.
“(Chuckle)Why? Didn’t want to enjoy new year?”
Well, does enjoyment always mean dressing up and heading for a grand new year party with passes in our hands? Not in all cases.
Because when one doesn’t feel comfortable, one can’t enjoy. Yes, I am not comfortable with these parties. You may call me boring or mundane or whatever you wish to. But I am quite sure that I enjoyed more than you did. I enjoyed more in my pyjamas than you did in your suit. I enjoyed more in my room than you did in a club. I enjoyed more in my solitude than you did in a crowd.
Because for some, new year is not marked by clubbing. It is not marked by music or DJs.
For some, it’s reading their favourite novel the entire night. For some, it’s making a cup of tea and sipping it under the moonlight. For some, it’s video calling a loved one. For some, it’s about saying ‘I love you’ for the first time. For some, it’s about sitting on a river bank and observing the birds, noticing how swiftly water flows, feeling the teeth chattering cold. For some, it’s about being at home with parents. Because for some, ‘party’ doesn’t have to mean binging on drinks and dancing.
And that is not something to be embarrassed for. Yes, we stayed at home on a new year eve and we’re proud of it.

 

Pic courtesy: GoogleScreenshot_2018-01-01-10-17-19-1

2 thoughts on “Yes, we exist.

Leave a comment